League of Legends Free to Play MOBA Game

League of Legends

League of Legends

League of Legends is a free to play fast-paced Multiplayer Online Battle Arena (MOBA) where players fight against each other in exciting team based PVP using a variety of different Champions, characters/classes with their own unique fighting style and abilities, over a number of different maps and game modes.


- 119 different champions to choose from.
- Battle across four different game modes.
- Exciting team based PVP.
- Level up during the battle and unlock new skills.
- Purchase gear and equipment to help you through the fight.
- Free to play game with rotating champions each week.


The core gameplay of League of Legends is team based combat, but players do have the option of going up against challenging AI bots in a number of modes, but primarily players will be fighting against each other.

Teams start at each end of a map in their own base with the ultimate goal of pushing across the map into the other teams base and destroying their Nexus, a structure that once fallen will give victory to the attacking team. During battle teams will have to fight past waves of minions, tower defences and also enemy players who are also trying to fulfil the same goal objective.

During battle players can earn XP from killing players, minions and destroying towers to level up their character and increase their abilities as well as earning gold to purchase items and armour from the shop. When the game is over players character level will reset to level 1, so for each game players must level up again and by the new gear. A players’ account level, which can unlock extra features and characters is different to their in game character level.


There are specific components that define the layout of a League of Legends map and serve different purposes to create a tactical based battle:

Lanes - a lane is a direct path that links one base to another and each lane is lined with three ally sentry towers and three enemy sentry towers along the way, these towers will attack any enemy creatures that come within range and can be particularly deadly for players.

Along each lane on a map waves of minions will automatically spawn and travel down the lane and can be killed for XP and gold as well is used tactically to overcome the sentry tower defences.

Jungle - flanking a lane players will find jungle area, heavily built up tree areas that provide cover to anyone entering them making them invisible on the overhead mini map and can be used to set up ambushes switch between lanes without being seen. Within the jungles players can also find NPC camps that they can destroy to gain bonuses and buffs in the battle.

Base - at each end of the map the player spawns into their own base, this is also the place where players can go to heal up their characters damage, where they will revive if they are killed, the area that they must defend from the enemy team and also the location of the shop where players can purchase items in game such as weapons, armour and potions.


There are over 100 different champions available in the game, with more added continuously to change up the tactics and strategy in a game. Players who have a premium accounts have access to all the available Champions, over those playing on a free to play account can only access the handful of Champions that have been made available on the weekly rotation.

Each champion falls into one of seven different Roles, with some being hybrids between various roles, which determine how they are best utilised in battle and what they should focus on.

The six roles are Assassin, Fighter, Mage, Support, Tank and Marksman, these roles will also determine their general stats pool and whether they are more offensive or defensively focused, for example the Tank is excellent at taking on multiple opponents and soaking up damage whereas the Assassin is a high damage dealer great at taking on players and minions.


In the game the battle maps fall into two clear game modes: Classic mode and Dominion. In eight Classic game players are charged with destroying the enemies Nexus, the different maps available in this mode determine how many champions are on each team and how many lanes are on the map ranging from three lanes to a single lane battle.

Dominion requires players to hold the most capture points and a single map which will directly reduce the hit points of the enemy teams Nexus giving an alternate way to fight and requires different tactics.


Free to play MOBA


Windows / Mac


Riot Games¡


OS: Windows XP (Service Pack 2 or 3 ONLY), Windows Vista, or Windows 7
CPU: 2 GHz
Memory: 1 GB RAM (Windows Vista and 7 users will want 2 GB of RAM or more)
Graphics: Shader version 2.0 capable video card
DirectX Support: v9.0c

OS: Mac OS X 10.6.8
Memory: 2 GB RAM
Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT or ATI Radeon HD 2600


You must be logged in to post a comment.